About 50 riders will take part in the fourth round of the MRF MoGrip FMSCI National Rally Championship for two-wheelers on July 16-17,organized by Godspeed Racing  Pune and in association with  Coimbatore Auto Sports Club,

The rally is being conducted in a mix of dirt and gravel Special Stages. About 50 riders have confirmed participation across seven classes that form the National championship-Super Bike (Pro Expert, Group A and Expert), Super Sport 130 Group B, Super Sport 165 Group B, Super Sport 260 Group B, Super Sport 400 Group B, Super Sport 550 Group B and Scooter 210 Group B, the Coimbatore Auto Sports Club secretary, J Prithviraj told reporters here today.

Stating that there is also ‘Star of Tamil Nadu’ category exclusively for riders from the state, which attracted 20 contestants, he said a wide range of imported and domestic motorcycles would be seen in the main rally on July 17.

July 16 would see the documentation, scrutiny, recce, riders’ briefing and other formalities, he said.

TVS Racing’s Abdul Waheed Tanveer won the opening three rounds to take a big step towards winning the National title.

The total distance of the route is approximately 145 km with the total distance of the Special Stages about 70 km.

This time around, unlike last year, there would be two Special Stages-the LMW Stage (13.9 km) and the Premier Stage (10.95 km), he said.

The stages are set around windfarms near the Kethanur (Palladam) area, some 35 Km from here. A service Park has been set up there for competitors to service and refuel vehicles.

Deputy Commissioner of Police (Traffic), R Sivakumar will flag off the rally at around 7.30 AM on July 17 and it is expected to finish by 2.30 PM, Prithviraj said.


Leave a Reply